My Carbon Footprint

For a variety of reasons, I will be primarily riding a bike or taking the bus rather than driving a car once I move to my new city in a few weeks.  These reasons include saving money on gas and parking, the exercise benefits of riding a bike, and doing my part to save the environment.  In order to quantify the last part, I used a website to calculate my carbon footprint.  The results were not as good as I had hoped.

Last year, living with three roommates in a four-bedroom apartment and driving a Honda Accord a low to moderate amount, I produced approximately 15 tons of carbon dioxide.  Next year, the main changes will be almost no driving (I will be occasionally using a car sharing service that uses hybrid cars), but I will be living by myself in a one-bedroom apartment.

But even though my new driving habits will save 2 tons of carbon dioxide per year, and my new state produces cleaner electricity (less coal), my carbon footprint comes out exactly the same!  I have to admit that I am somewhat disappointed that whatever environmental benefit I will create by not driving will be offset by my living on my own.  Oh well, I still come out better than if I lived on my own AND drove every day.

One thing that I left out: my cross-country flights for grad school visits last year produced 7 tons of carbon dioxide.  I don’t think there’s much risk of me repeating that this year, as no one will be reimbursing me for flights this time around.

4 Responses to “My Carbon Footprint”


  1. 1 Dan August 6, 2010 at 3:17 AM

    Hi, I came across your blog and thought you might like this initiative we are running; “Make Your Blog Carbon Neutral”. If you get chance, have a look here:

    stockdisplays.co.uk/carbon-neutral-blogs/

  2. 2 เล่นพนันออนไลน์ July 13, 2015 at 3:09 PM

    you’re in reality a good webmaster. The website loading pace is amazing.
    It kind of feels that you are doing any unique trick. Moreover,
    The contents are masterwork. you have performed a magnificent process on this subject!


  1. 1 Going Greener With Alternative Power « The First Excited State Trackback on September 3, 2009 at 10:01 AM
  2. 2 Moving Beyond Petroleum — Bike Sharing « The First Excited State Trackback on July 5, 2010 at 1:25 PM

Leave a Reply

Twitter


