“Kids These Days,” a Reductio ad Absurdum by Induction

Choose an arbitrary Generation N.  Then let Generation N-1 be the next-older generation.

Generation N-1 says of Generation N:

“What’s wrong with Generation N?  They aren’t as smart, they don’t work as hard.  They have terrible manners, their clothes look stupid.  Have you heard their music?  Have you seen the way they dance?  Terrible.  They can’t speak properly to save their lives…

“Look at all that we’ve done for them, and they’re squandering it.  All of it.  I fear for the future of our society.”

So, Generation N < Generation N-1.

By a similar logic, we establish our base case: Generation 1 > Generation 2.

We can therefore conclude that human society peaked when Generation 1 came down from the trees, and has been monotonically decreasing in worth ever since.  There has been no progress, ever, and our society’s eventual destruction is ensured.

4 Responses to ““Kids These Days,” a Reductio ad Absurdum by Induction”


  1. 1 kredyty sygma June 16, 2013 at 7:45 PM

    Howdy! I know this is somewhat off topic but I was wondering which blog platform are you using for this site?
    I’m getting tired of WordPress because I’ve had issues with hackers and I’m looking at alternatives for another platform. I would be awesome if you could point me in the direction of a good platform.

  2. 2 Aura Himmelmann October 5, 2013 at 2:52 PM

    Hello there, I discovered your web site via
    Google at the same time as searching for a comparable topic,
    your site got here up, it appears to be like good.
    I have bookmarked it in my google bookmarks.

    Hi there, simply became aware of your blog thru Google, and located that it’s really informative.
    I’m going to watch out for brussels. I’ll appreciate when you proceed this in future.
    Numerous other people will likely be benefited out of your writing.
    Cheers!

  3. 3 Aida Forber November 5, 2013 at 7:18 PM

    It’s amazing designed for me to have a web site,
    which is beneficial designed for my experience. thanks
    admin

  4. 4 fisher price grand dollhouse December 8, 2013 at 3:42 AM

    Hi there every one, here every one is sharing these kinds of experience, therefore it’s pleasant to read this website, and I used to
    pay a quick visit this web site everyday.


Leave a Reply

